Department of Environment and Natural Resources
You are here > Home > Resources > News and Events

News and Events

NAMRIA in post-maritime boundary delimitation talks with Indonesia
News & Event(s) | Tita P. Cruz | 1 July 2016 | Print
The Philippines-Indonesia Ninth Meeting of the Joint Permanent Working Group on Maritime and Ocean Concerns (JPWG-MOC) was held at the Makati Diamond Residences on 08-10 June 2016.  The Philippine Delegation was led by Hon. Enrique A. Manalo, Undersecretary for Policy, Department of Foreign Affairs while the Indonesian Delegation was led by Hon. Dr. iur. Damos Dumoli Agusman, Secretary of the Directorate General for Legal Affairs and International Treaties, Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The meeting, which was composed of three Technical Working Groups (TWG), discussed the post-maritime boundary delimitation; maritime cooperation particularly in safety and security of navigation and in search and rescue; and marine and fisheries cooperation, particularly the efforts to combat illegal, unreported, and unregulated fishing.
The delegates of the meeting

For the first TWG (TWG1), Deputy Administrator Efren P. Carandang, head of the Philippine delegation and Prof. Dr. Sobar Sutisna, head of the Indonesian delegation co-chaired the discussion on the following:

•Proposed Implementing Arrangement between the Philippines and Indonesia on Articles II and III of the 2014 Agreement on the Delimitation of the Exclusive Economic Zone Boundary
•Proposed Joint Production of Nautical Chart of the Celebes Sea

Deputy Administrator Carandang was joined by Hydrography Branch Director Commo. Jacinto M. Cablayan, Capt. Herbert L. Catapang, Engr. Dennis A. Bringas and Engr. Tita P. Cruz. Also present were Ambassador Gilberto B. Asuque, Deputy Chief of Mission, Philippine Embassy in London and Permanent Representative to the International Maritime Organization and Head of Philippine TWG on Maritime Boundary Delimitation, and the representatives from Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources, Philippine Coast Guard, National Coast Watch Council Secretariat, Philippine Navy and National Security Council.
Members of TWG1

The Indonesian Delegation was composed of representatives from Indonesian Geospatial Information Agency, Ministry of Defense, Indonesian National Defense Forces Headquarters, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources, and Hydro-Oceanographic Office of the Indonesian Navy.
Deputy Administrator Carandang and Professor Sutisna

The working outline was formulated for the preparation of the arrangement to implement Articles II and III of the Agreement on the Delimitation of the EEZ Boundary, while both sides agreed to continue the discussions to develop a Proposed Agreement for the Joint Production of Nautical Charts.  Thus,  intersessional meetings will be held with the outputs for reporting in the next meeting of the JPWG-MOC.

Readers can email newscoop@namria.gov.ph or fax letters to +63-2 8884-2855 for their comments and suggestions.

Top Page